In light of the ever changing COVID-19 situation in the U.S, the postponed Rock and Roll Hall of Fame induction ceremony has been cancelled and replaced with a virtual ceremony. This decision comes almost a month after reopening to the public.



In partnership with HBO, the 2020 inductees will still be honored on November 7th in a televised special.  Anyone with a ticket to the original show will get a complete refund with this new development.



The honorees this year are:

1) Depeche Mode

BERLIN, GERMANY – JULY 23: Singer Dave Gahan of Depeche Mode performs live on stage during a concert at Waldbuehne on July 23, 2018 in Berlin, Germany. (Photo by Stefan Hoederath/Redferns)


2) The Doobie Brothers

NASHVILLE, TENNESSEE – NOVEMBER 18: Michael McDonald, Patrick Simmons and Tom Johnston of The Doobie Brothers Perform Toulouse Street And The Captain and Me Albums Live at The Ryman on November 18, 2019 in Nashville, Tennessee. (Photo by Jason Kempin/Getty Images)


3) Nine Inch Nails

LOS ANGELES, CA – JULY 23: (EDITORS NOTE: Image has been converted to black and white) Singer Trent Reznor of Nine Inch Nails performs onstage during FYF Fest on July 23, 2017 in Los Angeles, California. (Photo by Scott Dudelson/WireImage)


4) T-Rex

LONDON – SEPTEMBER 15: A fan from Yorkshire pays tribute to Marc Bolan, lead-singer & guitarist of the band T-Rex, by visiting his roadside shrine on September 15, 2007 in London, England. The 30th anniversary of Marc Bolan’s death is on Sunday September 16, 2007. Bolan was killed after his car hit a tree in 1977. (Photo by Cate Gillon/Getty Images)


As well as: Whitney Houston, the Notorious B.I.G., and the Ahmet Ertegun Award honorees are Jon Landau and Irving Azoff.

Pop diva Whitney Houston at the 42nd Annual Grammy Awards at the Staples Center in Los Angeles February 23, 2000, and a man displaying a T-shirt tribute to rapper Biggie Smalls aka The Notorious B.I.G 18 on August 17, 1997 during his funeral procession in Brooklyn. – Pop icon Whitney Houston and rapper The Notorious B.I.G. are among this year’s Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductees, the institution announced on January 15, 2020.
The late legends are joined by the synth-pop act Depeche Mode and the industrial experimental group Nine Inch Nails, along with the 1970s rockers The Doobie Brothers and English glam rock band T-Rex. (Photo by STF / AFP) (Photo by STF/AFP via Getty Images)